COVID-19 Vaccination Required for in-person classes and services beginning January, 2022. Click here to learn more.

facebook twitter


The Division of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences comprises four academic departments, six professional programs, and six transfer majors.  It is a large and diverse division that has at its core a body of traditional knowledge that is widely accepted as critical to higher education.

The Language Department focuses on the study of language for communication and culture including English for speakers of other languages (ESOL) and the study of Spanish, French and Arabic.

The English Department provides courses in college writing, reading and literature of many countries and genres.

The Humanities Program includes the visual arts, music, theatre and philosophy, as well as Africana Studies.

The Social Sciences Department offers history, psychology, sociology, economics, political science and other courses that examine human life in society.

Opportunities for independent learning and additional practice are available in the Writing Center and the Language Lab.  The RCC Honors Program has its historic home in the Division of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences.

Through its courses and programs, the Division of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences strives to provide students with the mental tools they need for college-level reading, writing and research.  Beyond this, we challenge students to learn the best ideas, skills and informed opinions from a wide variety of academic fields.  This diversity of study prepares students for the globalized world they will enter at graduation. 

Course Outcomes
Program Outcomes